About us

We are a family of 4, Bert, Angelique, Lotte, and Pepijn. Below we introduce ourselves one by one to you, but first a little more about our life as a family. A few years ago Bert got the possibility to work in Taiwan for two years. This changed our lives to a truly adventurous one. 

We are all born in the Netherlands! Within the Netherlands, we moved a few times for Bert’s work. In 2008 when Lotte was three years and Pepijn 18 months old, we moved to Belgium. Our first experience with moving to another country and all the changes that come with it. We have enjoyed living in Belgium for almost 10 years and succeeded in creating a nice ‘home’.

End of 2016 we got the opportunity to move to Taiwan with the whole family for an assignment of two years and decided to go for it. In April 2017 we got the final approval and we started the relocation. The 13th of August 2017 was the day we said goodbye to friends and family and started our new journey. 

The kids are in their fourth year of education in Taiwan. Just before Bert’s second-year assignment ended, he got a new offer to stay in Taiwan for another two years. This summer we will move back to The Netherlands to reorganize everything a little bit and to prepare ourselves for more adventures abroad.

We would like to introduce ourselves! 

 

I’m Bert and the reason that we can live abroad with our family. I’m working for a high-tech company and often out on the roads for a bike ride. We usually leave in the early mornings when the traffic is still relatively quiet and the temperature still low. I discover the roads of Taiwan mostly together with a nice group of riders. I like windsurfing but actually all water sports are my hobbies. 

 

 

Hello, I’m Angelique, and the author of most of the blogs on this website. I’m a graphic designer, photographer, travel planner, and expat mom. And I try to keep the house clean and do the laundry and grocery shopping. This Expat life made me grow as a person and gave me a different way of thinking. I love my life and my family and tell the kids to follow their dreams and to enjoy every single day.

 

 

Hi! my name is Lotte and I am 16 years old. I am currently a student at Hsinchu International School. I like debating and giving speeches as long as there not far too many people. Listening to music and watching Netflix shows is also something I like. Just like my dad, I go out on the water sometimes and show off my windsurfing skills. I enjoy being around my friends in Taiwan, but I have to say that social media is also my best friend. That’s a great way to keep in touch with all my friends in Belgium and the Netherlands. That basically describes me, on to my brother… 

 

Hello, my name is Pepijn and I am 14 years old. Just like my sister I am a student at Hsinchu International school. Soccer is my life and I play it as much as possible. My position on the pitch is goalie but I also like to play defense. I also like to play video games on the PS4 and Nintendo Switch. Just like my dad, I love to ride my bike no matter the weather. Before I became interested in soccer I also played tennis. So to describe me, I love to play sports and video games.

  

 

 

We all like traveling and exploring the world. Because of Covid-19, it isn’t possible to travel yet but that doesn’t mean that we are not going out. I believe that you never have enough time to discover all the wonderful places of Taiwan. We try to find the best way to combine relaxation, exploration, and family time. Because of Bert’s long working hours, it’s important to find some balance in this.

We like to share our experiences in life with you on this blog. You can always contact us via email or in the comment below for all your questions. Also, our children are willing to answer your questions about school and life as Expat kids.

We hope to hear from you soon.